

HOCKEY HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES NEW APPOINTMENTS TO THE SELECTION COMMITTEE

Mike Gartner to replace John Davidson as Chair and Cammi Granato to become new member

TORONTO (November 23, 2021) – Lanny McDonald, Chair of the Board of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today new appointments to the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee. The appointments were made at the Directors' meeting held on November 15, 2021 and subsequently confirmed by the new appointees.

After 22 years of distinguished service, including 7 years as Chair, **John Davidson** will retire from the Selection Committee on December 31, 2021. **Mike Gartner**, a member of the Selection Committee since 2009, will assume the role as Chair and **Cammi Granato** will join the 18-member Committee, both effective January 1, 2022. Gartner's Hall of Fame career spanned over 19 NHL seasons producing 708 goals, 627 assists and 1,335 points crowned by his induction in 2001. As one of the first two women inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2010, Granato captained Team USA to the gold medal at the Winter Olympic Games in 1998 and retired as the all-time leading scorer in women's international hockey. She is currently a scout for the Seattle Kraken.

"I am very pleased and honoured to welcome Cammi to the Selection Committee whose deliberations in recognition of excellence will be complemented by her knowledge and active role in the game of hockey", said McDonald. "I also express our appreciation and gratitude for the outstanding contributions and leadership that JD has brought to the Selection Committee throughout his tenure, and I know with Mike's experience in past selection proceedings there will be exceptional continuity going forward."

The Selection Committee will meet on June 26 & 27, 2022 to consider duly nominated candidates for election into Honoured Membership. The announcement of the new inductees will be made on June 27, 2022 and the annual Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 14, 2022.

The Hockey Hall of Fame ("HHOF") was established in 1943 to honour and memorialize individuals who have brought special distinction to the game of hockey and those who made outstanding contributions to the development and advancement of hockey anywhere in the world, and to collect, research, preserve, exhibit and promote objects, images and other historical materials connected with the game at all levels. As a not-for-profit corporation and registered charity, HHOF owns and operates a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art exhibits, theatrical presentations and educational programming from its premises at Brookfield Place, Toronto, and a multi-purpose archive, resource centre and research facility located at 400 Kipling Avenue, Toronto.

CONTACT:

Kelly Masse Hockey Hall of Fame 416-933-8212 kmasse@hhof.com / @kellyhockeyhall



HOCKEY HALL OF FAME SELECTION COMMITTEE (as appointed November 15, 2021)

Mike Gartner, Chair

David Branch Brian Burke

Cassie Campbell-Pascall

Mark Chipman Bob Clarke

Marc de Foy Michael Farber

Ron Francis

Cammi Granato Anders Hedberg

Jari Kurri

Igor Larionov Pierre McGuire Bob McKenzie Mike Murphy

David Poile Luc Robitaille Richmond Hill, Ohio Toronto, Ontario

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Calgary, Alberta

Winnipeg, Manitoba Ocean City, New Jersey

Longueuil, Quebec Verdun, Quebec

Raleigh, North Carolina North Vancouver, BC Stockholm, Sweden

Espoo, Finland

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan New Canaan, Connecticut

Toronto, Ontario Toronto, Ontario Nashville, Tennessee Santa Monica, California