Legends of Hockey - NHL Trophies - Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
Tissot - Official Timekeeper IIHF Tissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Lady Byng, wife of Canada's Governor-General at the time, presented the Lady Byng Trophy in 1925. After Frank Boucher of the New York Rangers won the award seven times in eight seasons, he was given the trophy to keep and Lady Byng donated another trophy in 1936. After Lady Byng's death in 1949, the National Hockey League presented a new trophy, changing the name to the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

The trophy is an annual award given to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Leading winners: Frank Boucher (7), Wayne Gretzky (5), Pavel Datsyuk, Red Kelly (4).

The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

Sid Smith won the Lady Byng twice during his career with the Leafs
NHL President Clarence Campbell makes presentation to Maple Leafs forward Sid Smith (1952 recipient)